At-Home Workouts: B’s Top 4

If you’re not yet aware, I’m a huge advocate for at-home workouts. This started back in my teen years, when I was obese and my doctor told my mom that this body of mine needed to start moving. At 13 years old, taking me to a gym wasn’t even a thought. Plus, my self-esteem was so low, there was no way I would have agreed to exercise in front of other people. Heck, I had a hard enough time even agreeing to exercise with the help of my mom.

The point is…working out at home became a way of life for me. I’ve had a Planet Fitness membership (which I would gladly obtain again! No hate on PF ever coming from me!) in the past, and tried out Anytime Fitness for a brief period (hated the one local to me). But, at the end of the day, working out at home has brought me all of my most significant visual and physical results.

In a world where there are SO MANY fitness “experts” to choose from, you may feel overwhelmed. However, please remember that the best workout is one you enjoy and will stick with! Having so much variety is an amazing thing. It’s not really an over-saturated market, because we all identify with different styles and personalities, so a lot of trainers out there truly do have so much to offer.

All that said, I’d like to chat a bit about my person favorites in the home workout space.

Ready?

Let’s goooooooo!

Danielle Pascente

Friends, this woman is amazing. Her workouts are kick-ass. No, literally, her programs are the Kick-Ass Training Guides. I’ve followed her for FIVE years now. Although her paid programs are amazing and life changing, she also offers so many free workouts on her Instagram!

Note that if you do purchase her programs or do any of her workouts on IG, she’s readily available to help you out. Never be afraid to ask about modifications or, honestly, almost anything at all. Danielle doesn’t provide content just to develop a successful business. She wants to genuinely help you make positive change in your life. Her messages are centered around true health, mentally and physically.

Danielle’s motivation actually helped push me through running a half marathon in 2016!

So, whether you need to pay for a program to keep yourself on track, or enjoy free content, definitely check out Danielle’s Instagram (@daniellepascente), as well as all she has to offer on her site here.

Fitness Blender

Honestly, Fitness Blender is a one stop shop. Affordable (guys, SERIOUSLY affordable) programs and hundreds of free workouts on youtube. Daniel and Kelli Segars provide workouts from HIIT to strength to pilates, and so much in between. Both Kelli and Danielle (above) taught me that strength training is one of the greatest ways to truly embrace and change my body at the same time.

On their website, you can filter through workouts by length, level of difficulty, body part, and even by training type (cardio, strength, etc). Both Kelli and Daniel focus so much on proper form, breath, and paying attention to your body.

Regardless of where you are in your fitness journey, these two make you feel like a part of their community. They’ve helped me understand that “fit” is not one-size-fits-all, and that our bodies are not the same day to day.

Basically, you need to check them out. Bonus! If you do have a gym membership, they often have printable versions of their workouts!

Tone It Up

Alright, so Tone it Up still does have many free workouts available on YouTube. However, they’ve migrated to their Studio Tone it Up app, which is a paid subscription.

Listen. I’m very picky with where I spend my money, folks. I’m telling you right now, the app is worth it.

I once frowned upon the idea of Tone it Up because I though Karena, Katrina, and all of their TIU girls were just too pretty and too perfect. Wow. Judgmental much?!

I’ve since realized that their workouts leave me feeling accomplished, energized, and so empowered. The way all of the girls speak throughout their routines promote nothing but positivity. So, even when you’re out of breath doing burpees, you still feel so strong.

Bonus! Since Katrina went through her own pregnancy, the app has prenatal and postnatal sections, as well. I’d truly be lost without those workouts at this point!

FitOn App

Helloooo, choices! FitOn is a FREE app, folks. They provide a variety of workouts from some of the very best trainers (Danielle Pascente, Jeanette Jenkins, Cassey Ho, and so many more).

You can browse by workout type, check out the workout class schedule day to day, and check out all the workouts from a particular trainer.

FitOn is constantly adding more new workouts and growing in exciting ways. I can’t recommend it enough and definitely encourage everyone and anyone to take advantage of this tool.

I mean. Come on. It’s FREE. There is no catch!!!

There are so many other sources out there for at home workouts. Blogilates and Popsugar Fitness have both been big ones in my life, as well. However, te 4 detailed above have made some of the biggest changes for me, personally.

Of course it’s all about finding what you truly enjoy, so you do you, boo!

Just know that you don’t need to drop hundreds of dollars per year at a gym if you don’t want to. And in many cases, you don’t have to drop any money at all! Fitness should be accessible to everyone, and we live in a world where it truly is!

If you try any of the above, let me know how you liked the workout(s) you ended up tackling.

You deserve to feel like the amazing, strong, capable human being that you are, inside and out. And I hope that one or all of these recommendations help you feel that way.

Love & light, friends.

-Brittni

Leave a comment